Return to Website

AustinDiggers.com - Arrowhead Message Boards

THE MESSAGE BOARD POINT CHATTER IS NOW CLOSED TO ALL NEW POSTS.

WE HAVE MOVED TO THE NEW MESSAGE BOARD AND ALL NEW PICTURES AND POSTS WILL BE THERE FROM 4-16-2014 FORWARD.

THIS BOARD WILL CONTINUE TO BE HERE ONLY FOR INFORMATION AND TO READ / SEE ALL OLD POSTS.

GO TO AUSTINDIGGER.COM  - LOCATE THE LINK FOR POINT CHATTER II
AND LOG IN AND CHAT WITH US AND SHARE YOUR FINDS.
ALL NEW WEBSITE - ALL NEW MESSAGE BOARDS.

WE NOW HAVE PICTURE HOSTING !! LOG IN AND NOW YOU CAN EVEN POST YOUR PICTURES FROM YOUR PHONES - WELCOME TO 2014 HUH 8)

SEE YOU THERE - MICHELLE

Point Chatter - AustinDiggers.com - Arrowhead Message Board
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
DIGGING CREEK HILLSIDE

I'm new to digging and just recently a friend of mine gave me permission to dig a hillside on his property next to a spring fed creek. I found alot of flint in some gofer mounds on top of the hill. My son and I spent 5 hours digging Sat morning and after 3 holes down to the clay the size of a truck hood we only found one petrified wood point and a Waco sinker. The hill runs about 200 yards along the side of the creek. I quess what i'm wanting to know is if there is particuler area that I should be concintrating on that may produce better results. We pulled about 100 pieces of flint from each hole dug but not many points. Thanks

Re: DIGGING CREEK HILLSIDE

Here's another factor to crank into your possibilities . Significant camps are rarely found on slopes [the ancients didnt like to roll out of their sleeping bags]. check for a more level spot OR failing that, knowing water is a serious magnet, look for a flat right on the top rim of the hill. Flint and "artifacts" tend to gravitate DOWNSLOPE so where you report your finds seems to be a good starting point for your future landscaping. regards SH

I'm in the Bremond area about 18 miles S of Marlin.