SMILIES       BB-CODE       FORUM GUIDELINES       SITE DONATIONS       CONTACT ADM
Forum: General Forum
Start a New Topic 
   Board|Threaded
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
to Elena

Hi Elena

I'm not the webmaster of this site anymore but seeing I've been a webmaster for 11 years and learned a few things along the way, there's some stuff I wanted to share with you regarding internet etiquette (so called "netiquette"). Here are a few tips you might find useful as owner of a webpage or forum:

1. UNAPPROVED ADVERTISING
It's considered unpolite to advertise your own webpage/forum on someone elses webpage/forum without first having asked permission, especially if your page is about the same topic. Think about it... why should the webmasters of this site pay for promoting yours? This is also written about in the forum guidelines (click link on top of this forum). The best way is to contact the webmasters and ask permission, or contact your friends privately and inform them of your page. And considering the intent of which your forum was set up (in conflict with current webmasters), the above netiquette applies even more.

2. COPYING LAYOUT
When setting up a webpage or forum it's a good idea to choose your own colors and graphics to distinguish it from other websites or forums.
Unless you have permission, don't use a site header from another website. If you want to link to a site there are ususally banners and buttons for that purpose. It's also a bad idea to copy someone else in regards to colors and background graphic. Copying someone elses layout gives the impression that your page is part of the site you are copying - in this case DUF. Also, original graphics on a website are copyrighted the site owners or the original creators.

3. COPYING FORUM POSTS
Never copy posts from other forums unless you have permission from the authors. Hopefully you did get permission - if so, it's all good.

4. OVERALL IMPRESSON and EXPRESSION