Australian Chang Jiang Forum

If you would like to share any information or would like further information about the modifications that are on my website please feel free to post a message.

Australian Chang Jiang Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Bosch RE55 Regulator & Ingrams 9692 Rectifier

I actually installed the RE55 many months ago when writing the web article, it worked flawlessly until recently when the charge light remained on. I played around without much success with the alternator then decided to follow the instructions from the link to the Guzzi electrical site, however I found that link is now dead. I then went to the local electrical auto shop and purchased a similar regulator to the Ingrams one. I studied the instructions that i had previously downloaded from the Guzzi site before the link was dead and disagreed with one point there, where the wire from the centre of the alternator windings was connected to the earth plate of the rectifier. This can not be correct as the centre wire outputs around 17VAC (alternating current) therefore if you ground it out there will be a short for half the number of cycles.

Now assuming that you just installed the Ingrams rectifier straight out of the box the positive tails from the Diodes will be pointing towards the mounting plate of the bike....right? OK let me tell you what i did.....

1) Purchase a suitable 9 diode rectifier.

2) Loosen and remove the centre bolt through the rectifier pack. Then turn the mounting screw around such that the three diode "tails" are facing away from the frame mounting plate when it has been fitted to the frame mount. The positive plate is the centre plate on the rectifier that i purchased, with the negative plate being the one at the opposite end of the mounting screw out of the box, but after turning the bolt around as above it then becomes the one nearest to the frame.